Boater Education Classroom Course - 03/02/2019 - (490184)
3131 Eastside Street, Suite 500
Houston, TX 77098
Directions to the classroom: 1. Exit Kirby on the Southwest Freeway, go North to the first light (Richmond) and turn left. 2. Go West on Richmond to the first light (Eastside) and turn right. 3. Go North on Eastside 400 yards to 3131 Eastside. It is a six-story office building on the right named River Oaks Green. Park in the garage directly behind building. 4. The classroom, 5th floor training room of Myron Steves & Co. Get directions
Instructor: Frederick Steves
About the CourseAnyone born on or after September 1, 1993 who wishes to operate certain vessels on the public waterways of Texas. See Water Safety Act for details. Boating courses are taught by US Coast Guard Auxiliary, US Power Squadron and trained volunteer instructors, as well as teachers, and game wardens. With more and more people enjoying the lakes and rivers every year, it's important, for everyone, that boaters educate themselves on boating skills and seamanship. All classes are a minimum of six hours. More questions? Check our FAQ page.
Time: 800 AM to 500 PM
Cost: Course fee: $35 per person (includes lunch and $10 state certification fee).
Registration: Register and pay on this website
Age: Minimum age is 13 to receive state certification.
State Certification: Successful completion of the course fulfills the Texas boater education requirements and entitles you to state certification from Texas Parks & Wildlife. State Certification is mandatory in Texas for boaters born on or after September 1, 1993 (currently age 25 and under) operating power vessels more than 15 horsepower or windblown vessels over 14 ft.
Boating topics covered in the state certification courses include boating terms, state & federal requirements, trailering, navigation rules, aids to navigation, boat handling, emergencies and more.