Texas Law states that Boater Education is required by law for anyone born after September 1, 1993 who will operate a windblown vessel over 14 feet in length, a motorboat with more than 15 horsepower, or a personal watercraft (jet ski, wave runner, or sea do).
We will certify students who choose to pay the $20 certification fee for the TPWD training. All students will go through the course but only those who pay the $20 and pass the test will receive the lifetime certification for Boater Education.
If interested in having your student certified, please have them pick up a registration form from me during class and return it with the $20 (cash or checks made payable to Wylie HS) by January 31, 2019.
Certification cards will be available for the students to print a couple of weeks after they pass the test. The student will receive a temporary card they can use until the permanent card becomes available.
Click the link for more information from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Dept. website:
Please contact me with any questions regarding TPWD Boater Ed.