Bowhunter Education Classroom Course - 05/06/2018 - (255052)

Class #255052

This course is no longer available for registration.
Back to results
May 6
10:30 am - 04:30 pm
Bass Pro Shop
17907 IH-10 West
San Antonio, TX 78257
210-253-8800Get directions
Instructor: Charles Marcus

About the Course

This course is designed for novice or young hunters, ages 9 years and above. The course covers the core competencies of firearm and bowhunting safety, hunting ethics and wildlife conservation. All materials are provided. The Bowhunter Education Classroom Course lasts a maximum of 6 hours of classroom instruction. This time does not include registration, breaks, test administration and certification card distribution. Courses are offered across the state year round and are taught by certified volunteer instructors. The fee for the certification is $15. Some instructors may apply additional charges for the class, such as range or facility fees. Pre-registration is required. Check with the instructor for directions and any special instructions prior to going to class.

Be sure to verify with the instructor that the class you are registering for is the Classroom Course.

You may also contact your local Texas Parks and Wildlife Department office or call TPWD Austin headquarters at 1-800-792-1112, ext. 4999.

When you arrive at the course:

  1. Pay the fee to the instructor.
  2. Attend the entire course.
  3. Take the written exam and get at least 75% correct to pass.
  4. Upon successful completion, you may receive a temporary card from the instructor. You may legally hunt with a valid Texas hunting license and your temporary certification card. Your permanent Texas Hunter Education certification card will be available for downloading and printing from your Account Profile.
  More questions? Check our FAQ page.
Not required in the State Of Texas yet but required by some private landowners, military bases, Hagermann NWR and other federal lands.  This course is required for hunting with a bow in other states (14) such as Montana and Alaska. It is not a substitute for the Hunter Education Course requirements.  (If you were born on or after September 2, 1971, you need to successfully complete an approved hunter safety education course before you can hunt in Texas.) For those new to bow hunting, you will learn some new ideas to apply and get questions answered that you might have over the class material as well as get a chance to ask questions about equipment.  Bass Pro Shop allows us to use the Archery Range for free during the class time (maximum thirty minutes depending on students' abilities) so BRING your bow to class. Cost: $15 CASH (sorry not able to process credit cards and there is no ATM in the building) If further questions please reach me at 210-325-1144.  Thank you