Hunter Education Classroom Course - 08/28/2021 - (1061605)

Class #1061605

This course is no longer available for registration.
Back to results
Aug 28
08:30 am - 04:30 pm
Jesse H. Jones Park and Nature Center
20634 Kenswick Dr.
Humble, TX 77338
Classes are held in the Nature Center building, which is across from the main parking lot. Get directions
Instructor: Matthew Abernathy

About the Course

This course is designed for novice or young hunters, ages 9 years and above. The course covers the core competencies of firearm and hunting safety, hunting ethics and wildlife conservation. All materials are provided. The Hunter Education Classroom Course lasts a maximum of 6 hours of classroom instruction. This time does not include registration, breaks, test administration and certification card distribution. Courses are offered across the state year round and are taught by certified volunteer instructors. The fee for the certification is $15. Some instructors may apply additional charges for the class, such as range or facility fees. Pre-registration is required. Check with the instructor for directions and any special instructions prior to going to class.

Be sure to verify with the instructor that the class you are registering for is the Classroom Course.

You may also contact your local Texas Parks and Wildlife Department office or call TPWD Austin headquarters at 1-800-792-1112, ext. 4999.

When you arrive at the course:

  1. Pay the fee to the instructor.
  2. Attend the entire course.
  3. Take the written exam and get at least 75% correct to pass.
  4. Upon successful completion, you may receive a temporary card from the instructor. You may legally hunt with a valid Texas hunting license and your temporary certification card. Your permanent Texas Hunter Education certification card will be available for downloading and printing from your Account Profile.
  More questions? Check our FAQ page.
** PLEASE READ - INPORTANT INFORMATION FOR THIS CLASS!** Check-in begins at 8:30 a.m. and the class will start no later than 9 a.m. This class will cover all of the requirements for Hunter Education as required by the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department. The class will be $15.  Electronic payment information will be e-mailed out to the registered participants prior to the course. A 40 minute lunch break will be provided.  Participants are welcome to bring food or there are several nearby fast food restaurants available.  Vending & concessions ARE NOT available on site. All students will be required to take and pass the exam at the end of class to receive their certification.