Hunter Education Classroom Course - 10/13/2018 - (376313)
This course is no longer available for registration.Back to results
09:00 am - 02:00 pm
Instructor: Shawn Shreves
About the CourseThis course is designed for novice or young hunters, ages 9 years and above. The course covers the core competencies of firearm and hunting safety, hunting ethics and wildlife conservation. All materials are provided. The Hunter Education Classroom Course lasts a maximum of 6 hours of classroom instruction. This time does not include registration, breaks, test administration and certification card distribution. Courses are offered across the state year round and are taught by certified volunteer instructors. The fee for the certification is $15. Some instructors may apply additional charges for the class, such as range or facility fees. Pre-registration is required. Check with the instructor for directions and any special instructions prior to going to class.
Be sure to verify with the instructor that the class you are registering for is the Classroom Course.You may also contact your local Texas Parks and Wildlife Department office or call TPWD Austin headquarters at 1-800-792-1112, ext. 4999.
When you arrive at the course:
- Pay the fee to the instructor.
- Attend the entire course.
- Take the written exam and get at least 75% correct to pass.
- Upon successful completion, you may receive a temporary card from the instructor. You may legally hunt with a valid Texas hunting license and your temporary certification card. Your permanent Texas Hunter Education certification card will be available for downloading and printing from your Account Profile.
This is the course designed for youth seeking the Texas Hunter Education Certification. This is a "closed" course and is only available to youth who are in Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Texas 4H, and youth members of the Midland Shooters Association.
- Age - Students must be 9 years of age or older on the day of the course. A parent who wishes to complete the course along with their child are welcome to register as well.
- Date - Saturday, October 13th. The class starts at 9:00 am. Students should be there no later than 8:45 to confirm registration and get settled in. The course and exam should be complete by 2:00 pm. The completion could be anywhere from 1:20-2:00 after the student completes their exam successfully
- Registration MUST be completed online via the Texas Parks and Wildlife Departments registration system. The link is: https://tpwd.elementlms.com/course/hunter-education-classroom-course-2041/
- Payment - the cost of the course is $15. Cash Only - we do not accept checks or credit cards.
- Location - The class will be held at the Midland Shooters Association (MSA) Shotgun Range located at 5911 South FM 1788, Midland, TX 79706 (phone (432) 617-3142).
- Firearms - This is NOT a firearms training class. Your child does not need to bring anything other than a good attitude. Our focus is on gun safety, specifically for hunting, and hunting laws for the state of Texas. For actual firearms training we encourage parents to consider scouting, 4H, or the NRA programs available in the area.
- Parents - are welcome to leave their children, or stay and observe. We will ask for a cell phone number in case the child needs any special attention during the class. The instructor is certified by Boy Scouts as a shooting sports instructor and has completed the necessary background checks and youth protection training. I am also a certified instructor from the NRA in Rifle, Pistol, Shotgun and Muzzle Loading. My archery certifications is a level 2 USArchery certification.
- If you're child needs any special accommodations, please let the instructor know in advance so we can do what we can. Some youth may need a parent to attend to provide any special accommodations. This is not a problem, we will work with you as necessary.